It’s Friday; I’m in Love #2

07.12.13 / mesa verde
This week I had my first two shifts at work, and while the first was nothing short of anxiety-ridden and ego-crushing, the second half of the second shift was fantastic! Overnights have some of the funniest people I’ve met in a while working them, so I’m actually feeling a little excited to go back. I’ll admit I cried a couple of times between my first and second days every time I thought of going back, but I don’t think that’ll be the case before Saturday. And while it still isn’t my dream job (that would be writing enough to live comfortably), I don’t think it’s a bad place to be right now.

burrito date nights ♥ finishing A Storm of Swords ♥ ordering zines ♥ “Teen Wolf” ♥ rain ♥ local book store love ♥ Tarot readings ♥ Grimes’s “Oblivion” ♥ sending out letters ♥  15,000+ words of my novel written ♥ berry beer ♥ an awesome second shift at work ♥ getting Maranda Elizabeth’s Ragdoll House, even though I can’t read it for a while ♥ coming home to a very needy cat after work ♥ inspiration ♥ nighttime drives ♥ upcoming visits from friends ♥ folk punk playlists ♥ paycheck anticipation ♥ browsing for a new journal on etsy ♥ saving for a P.O. box ♥ actually getting dressed on days off

Three ways to make next week great:

  • Get to 30,000 words of my novel. This is a lofty goal, and maybe I won’t meet it. But maybe I will, and if I do, it will definitely make the week great. Even if I don’t, working on this book has become one of the best parts of my day, even when I’m struggling to find the right words.
  • Finish two books. I’ve really been off my game lately, reading slower than I’m capable of. This needs to change, especially now that I have a job and need to savor my time off. I also want to make sure I get through my reading list before the end of the season–and as soon as possible so I can dig into Ragdoll House. (Which I ordered before cutting myself off from new books, by the way.)
  • Organize my zines. My box of zines has issues hanging over the edges and falling out at the slightest movement near that bookcase, so if I only manage to do one thing this week, it should at least be to make another box to store them in. It’s not as if I’ll stop buying more issues anytime soon. Might as well make room for them, right?

How has your week been?


“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

One thought on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #2

  1. I love The Cure! It’s the only thing I’ll dance to lol Yay for new jobs! And I am very interested in this berry beer. Also please share this folk punk playlist!

    I made a cute new doll this week that im pretty excited about, and working on revamping my first doll pattern. Im also watching Korean dramedies again… 🙂

Leave a Reply

