It’s Friday; I’m in Love #8

08.15.13 / giant lawn mushroom

I love this ridiculously large mushroom on our lawn. I can see it from my desk.

Sort of sad news: I printed out everything I had written for the next issue of my perzine, read it over, and decided I don’t even like most of it. None of it is really anything I want to talk about right now, so I’m scrapping it (by which I mean storing it in a drawer for the moment) and starting over. But I’m considering this a good thing because maybe now I’ll do part of the new issue on my typewriter when the ribbon comes in. Not a bad thing, really; not even a setback, to be honest. I just changed my mind, I guess.

preordering The Julie Ruin’s new album on vinyl without having a turntable yet ♥ a comfortably cushioned bank account ♥ seeing my new flower plants sprouting on the windowsill of the office ♥ supporting self-published authors ♥ finding ways to inspire myself ♥ taking blogging breaks without being hard on myself + without apologizing ♥ falling in love with my desk as the weather gets cooler (some days) ♥ finishing the Hitchhiker’s Guide series ♥ movie dates to see “We’re the Millers” + “Kick-Ass 2” ♥ coming home to a fairly clean house after babysitting for a few days ♥ finally ordering a new ribbon for my typewriter + my missing issue of “Hit Girl” ♥ starting my 52 Weeks of Tarot project (which I will blog about soon)

Three ways to make next week great:

  • Read a ton. This week I read at my normal speed (rather than my personal low speed), finishing three books in four days while babysitting. I barely went on the computer while I was gone! It was a nice feeling, and since I’m babysitting again next week, I’m hoping to keep up this momentum.
  • Start a new writing routine. I tried getting up early this morning and didn’t quite work out, but I did get up earlier than yesterday, which I consider to be a start. I’ll count blogging as a part of the writing routine only because it is writing and it is productive, but the main goal in this is really my novel.
  • Just write. If nothing else, just writing–writing anything–is always a foolproof way for me to feel good. It’s what I do, so it makes sense that it’s the best (and simplest) way to make the week worthwhile. Letters, journaling, zines, my novel: all of it is perfect.

“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

Leave a Reply

