It’s Friday; I’m in Love #9

08.30.13 / makeup shelf + drawer bin

my newly organized makeup shelf

Today’s plan is to keep my cleaning momentum going, work on zines + letters, and write up a few blog posts. I love feeling like I’ve gotten plenty done, especially when it’s ahead of schedule, so productivity is today’s goal.

nights cool enough to sleep easily ♥ cleaning up + planning apartment organization ♥ keeping my filofax quite filled ♥ MCR’s “Danger Days” ♥ starting “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic” ♥ cuddling with the most affectionate cat I’ve ever met ♥ starting Frankenstein ♥ finally breaking 40,000 words on my novel ♥ spending less time online when possible ♥ awesome packages in the mail ♥ playing with my typewriter, Maggie, after getting a new ribbon ♥ supporting self-published artists ♥ lots of cool potential job apps on my to-do list ♥ making a nice grocery list for the first time in weeks ♥ fruit “pizza” ♥ ordering Dan’s birthday present ♥ watching way too much Disney Channel ♥ ordering Dan’s birthday present

Three ways to make next week great:

  • Go out and take photos. We’ve explored way too little since moving here, and it’s already been almost four months. I think we’ve only been out on one or two walks. I really want to get some on a rainy day; I feel like my photos are always from bright, sunny days when I’m out on the lawn, and they’re nice but sometimes they get a little old. I wouldn’t mind a nice, loud storm sometime soon.
  • Finish cleaning up the bedroom. I have a bunch of yarn I just reorganized with a new cubby set we bought, so I want to get the rest of the room cleaned up too. We have a pile of blankets that especially needs to be taken care of in some way or another. I mean, it is a literal pile behind the bedroom door. It’s a rather unattractive sight. (I also really, really need to do my laundry.)
  • Make a list of places to submit writing + work on shorter pieces. Sometimes I need a break from working on my book, and I’m actually thinking about getting a notebook for poetry because it’d be so different from working on the novel. Finding a place to eventually send in that or anything else (blogs, online magazines, print magazines, whatever) seems like a pretty productive way to spend my time.

“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

3 thoughts on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #9

    • I’m kind of throwing one together with a couple of cookbooks I have in the house: sugar cookie dough, cream cheese + milk + vanilla extract, and strawberries + blueberries on top.

Leave a Reply

