It’s Friday; I’m in Love #10

My knitting assistantI should've checked the mail before I left Saturday; I got my Paper Doll Army rations from @jettavegas!

I slacked like hell this week and it was awesome, not gonna lie. I spent about a day and half just playing The Sims 3 for the first time in months because that’s what I do: play a lot, then don’t play for a long time. But in my defense, when I worked, I totally kicked ass at it, so I’m not getting too down on myself. A lot of what I love this week is actually things I’m looking forward to–but I’ll save those for next week’s list.

my new Welcome to Night Vale shirt ♥ The Sims 3 ♥ watching everyone go back to school ♥ new seasons of shows on Netflix ♥ noveling ♥ new knitting projects ♥ finally perfecting my strawberry-banana smoothie recipe–great way for starting the morning ♥ getting a Tarot reading from Rachael (full blog post to come) ♥ starting over on a new zine ♥ ghost hunting plans ♥ a Sunday BBQ at my parents’ house, even though a bunch of people didn’t come ♥ coming up with fun healthy dinners with Dan ♥ picking up some books from the used bookstore + trying out a local coffee shop ♥ writing down the dates for new TV show seasons in my filofax (Parks & Rec, HIMYM, Supernatural, American Horror Story, aw yeah!) ♥ getting my rations from The Paper Doll Army

Three ways to make next week great:

  • Spend a day in Amherst. Okay this one is kind of a struggle because I’d have to leave with Dan, and I wouldn’t come home until he did. But I really want to go explore. I want to check out the zines at one of the bookstores there, see what they have for restaurants and coffee shops, and take advantage of the astoundingly large library. I just have to be able to get up in the morning.
  • Play the Sims without feeling guilty. I actively asked Dan yesterday if I could play all day, and he said yes, so I didn’t feel as badly as I did about playing most of Wednesday, but I also got a lot of writing done in the middle of the day and worked on knitting while I played, so I wasn’t necessarily unproductive. Still, it’d be cool to have a day when I just didn’t do anything but played The Sims and let myself have fun.
  • Break 50,000 words in my novel. This will only take seven or so days, at 1,000 words a day, so it sounds doable, but this last bit of the book has been slow going. Some days I hit a stride that gives me 2,000 words in an hour; others, I come out with 200 and have to quit for the day. That’s just how it is. If I can reach 50K, though, I’ll be astoundingly close to my final word count goal and close to done with the entire first draft.

“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

2 thoughts on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #10

Leave a Reply

