It’s Friday; I’m in Love #12

09.15.13 / monkey

I know; it’s such a sad looking monkey, isn’t it?

There’s been a serious lack of inspiration around these parts lately. Mostly I’ve spent my days watching TV and playing on the computer. Once in a while I’ll tear myself from technology to read or else knit while watching The X-Files. (I’m almost half way through season three.) I spend far too much time online at night playing cribbage online, then wake up at eleven the next morning; it’s a cycle, really. For a few weeks, I’ll do well, getting up at eight, going to bed around ten or eleven. But then I decide to stay up for a few nights and it all gets a bit shifted. Maybe someday I’ll be more consistent.

I’ve just felt overwhelmingly down, and even though I know browsing the internet and watching TV likely isn’t helping, it takes less energy than doing the things I actually enjoy, and I haven’t had the energy to try much.

constructive criticism ♥ Skins series 7 on Netflix ♥ a never-ending list of gift ideas ♥ busy weekends with friends ♥ homemade turkey-bean chili ♥ new playlists ♥ seeing the end of my novel come closer and closer ♥ new comic books ♥ late-night poetry writing ♥ reading in a bubble bath ♥ “Roar” by Katy Perry ♥ self-reliance/self-sufficiency ♥ curling up in a chair reading ♥ possible writing gigs + new jobs ♥ The Simpsons: Tapped Out ♥ Dan’s birthday ♥ non-stop knitting ♥ the new season of Once Upon a Time

Three ways to make next week great:

  • Read, read, read. Because reading always makes my week great, and I will finally get my library card today or tomorrow, which means a near-endless supply of books!
  • Write more lettersActually, some of them will be short postcards because I have a small stack to send out. I have some really wonderful pen pals, and I’m always so excited to fine a cute envelope in the mail waiting to be torn open–but to get one, I have to send one first.
  • Get off the internet. I’ve spent way too much time online the past week or so. I’ve been using my laptop more than my desktop, which is contributing someone to the near-constant attachment to technology (on top of my usual phone use, of course). I just need to take a break.

“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

One thought on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #12

  1. I’ve totally been feeling the same way. It doesn’t help that the new anti-anxiety meds my doctor put me on have a side effect of drowsiness on me, so I keep going in and out most of the time. Coffee has become a necessity for me to function. I actually stayed up until like 11am one morning and then had to re-adjust by going to bed, then powering through until the next night. Woohoo! 😄
    When you get your library card, check out the Mallory’s Oracle series by Carol O’Connell (Mallory’s Oracle being the first of the series). I’m on the fifth book and I just think that O’Connell has an amazing ability to write as well as come up with really detailed murder/mystery ideas. It’s sooooo good. Haha. Also, I need to finish Once Upon A Time’s season two! My hubby stopped wanting to watch the series after the first several episodes in the second season, so we didn’t watch it after that, but I still loved it.

Leave a Reply

