From the Bookshelves of November 2013

Books: The Book Thief, Spook, Fangirl

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Holy crap, this book was wonderful in the most heartbreaking way ever. My mom first told me to read it a few years ago, but I never did. Finally, knowing the movie was coming out soon I decided to borrow it from her again and give it a go–and I am so glad I finally did, even if it was super depressing. Granted, I should have gone in more prepared for the book to be a downer, seeing as it takes place in World War II Germany but y’know…hindsight. If I had to choose one book this month that would be an absolute must-read, it’s this one. Sure, you’ll likely need plenty of tissues, but believe me, it’s worth it. The narration style alone is worth the emotional turmoil.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I went right into this book after reading The Book Thief because I was hoping it would be more lighthearted. In a way, it was, but it still made me sad and frustrated at times, which I totally love so I’m not complaining. I wrote a full review of this for International Geek Girl Pen Pals, but suffice it to say that I recommend this book to any fangirls (and boys) because it’s likely you’ll be able to relate–almost to the point of getting eerie sometimes.

Spook by Mary Roach

This was a really good way to step away from the last two books, which both left me with quite the hangover. I’m not sure if I mentioned, but even though I have an English degree, I also have a soft spot for science. If I find a topic presented in a way that’s interesting to me, I’m ready to jump in. Ghosts are something I’ve always had a soft spot for (along with cryptozoology, UFOs, urban legends, etc.), so I was excited to find this book in Barnes & Noble one evening. Occasionally I would find my thoughts wandering while I read and I’d have to reread a paragraph sometimes, but for the most part I was into it. It was slow going, but I think that’s just because it was non-fiction science, not any kind of fiction. I have a much easier time breezing through fiction. Anyway–if you find ghosts interesting, skeptical or not, I’d recommend this. I’m already planning on getting another of her books when I get the chance.


“From the Bookshelves” is a monthly list of books I’ve recently read. I’ll share the good, the bad, and the ones so awful I didn’t even finish. The goal is to expose readers to books I encountered, and hopefully pique their interest in even the less enjoyed books because what’s boring to me might be fascinating to them.

5 thoughts on “From the Bookshelves of November 2013

  1. I read “Fangirl” and really enjoyed it, more than even I expected, I think. And I was just given “The Book Thief” to read by one of my teachers and only a few chapters in I’m already impressed by the narration and writing style. I’ll get this tissues ready!

  2. Pingback: February’s Local Library Book Sale Haul | Sonya Cheney

  3. Pingback: Recommended Reading: Landline by Rainbow Rowell | Sonya Cheney

Leave a Reply

