Meet My Comics Collection, Part One: The Singles

Adventure Time Comic Books

Starting college was an exciting thing for me. No, not because I started living in a dorm and spending way too much time with two dudes, but because I was suddenly a ten-minute walk from a comic book store. Comics books had never been that accessible to me physically, at least not to my knowledge. (I think all the ones that are even remotely close to where I used to live opened up after I started school.) In high school, if I wanted anything, I had to order online. After going away, though, if I had time to kill between classes, I could walk down Main Street, take a left, and there was my new local comics shop. I was in nerd heaven, dammit! I wanted everything. And frankly, I still do. Going to comic book store now is a total challenge; even if I go in with a shopping list, it’s rare I stick to it completely.
Wonder Woman #0

Currently, my collection of singles consists of 41 issues ranging from the Wonder Woman zero issue above to half of the Marceline & the Scream Queens six-issue run; the three I’m missing are on my constantly expanding list of wanted issues. I only have a few full sets, with most missing a couple of issues here and there, such as Marceline and Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre, or else are random single issues I’ve acquired, like Tank Girl: The Royal Escape and The X-Files: Season Ten, where I only have one or two of a run. Random issues kind of frustrate me because usually if I buy a single issue, it’s because I’m interested and invested in the series enough to buy each individual piece of the story rather than waiting for the trade paperback (though I do love those, but I’ll talk about that later). Sometimes, though, moths and dust bunnies start collecting in my wallet again and I just don’t get the chance to get a full run. My most successful collections are Northanger Abbey (my favorite Jane Austen book), Hit-Girl, and The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys.
Hit Girl and The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys

My collection of singles thus far includes at least a few issues each of: Adventure Time, Marcline & the Scream Queens, Wonder Woman (New 52), Northanger Abbey, The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys, Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre, Before Watchmen: Minutemen, The Powerpuff Girls, Wraith, The X-Files, and Tank Girl.

I think single issues can be more addicting than trade paperbacks and graphic novels because they’re usually three or four dollars compared to $15 or $20. It’s like getting a candy bar in the checkout aisle of the grocery store; it doesn’t feel like you’re spending a lot at the time, but it can definitely add up. Expecting about half of what I came up with, I laughed when I finished counting up how many I have. It was just so much more than I thought! And I have so many more on my to-buy list already. I just want to read them all, especially the lady superheroes–and villains. And plenty of odd ones, like more of The X-Files: Season Ten, some Dexter, and Game of Thrones. Seriously, there are way too many that I want to read, traditional and not.

Lastly, I do my best to bag and board each one. For a little while I had a few doubled up in bags because I had run out, and I was that damn determined. Thankfully, Katie brought me some at New Year’s Eve, so now I not only have each one in its own bag, but I have almost 100 bags and boards left for the expansion of my collection, which I hope is significant over the next year.

Now go ahead and have a look at part two about Part Two: The Books and Part Three: The Favorites.

4 thoughts on “Meet My Comics Collection, Part One: The Singles

  1. Pingback: Meet My Comics Collection, Part Two: The Books | Sonya Cheney

  2. Pingback: Meet My Comics Collection, Part Three: The Favorites | Sonya Cheney

  3. Pingback: Link Love

Leave a Reply

