February’s Local Library Book Sale Haul

2.9.14 / library book sale--nonfiction

I cannot begin to describe my love for the seasonal library book sale. It’s a combination of overwhelming and astonishing. On the one hand, there are a ton of books in a cramped space down in the basement of the library; how do I choose? On the other hand, there are A TON OF BOOKS for sale at the library! And they’re always so amazingly affordable. At my library this past weekend, paperbacks were $1 and hardcovers were $2. I made myself focus more on getting paperbacks because, hey, more for my money. I did splurge on a cool old hardcover copy of Selected Writings of Truman Capote, though, when I saw there were a few pieces from Breakfast at Tiffany’s, which I’ve been interested in reading. I even managed to leave with an extra $2 left–until I donated that to the library too, of course.

To be honest, some of these I only chose because they were so affordable, like Eat, Pray, Love. I haven’t been terribly interested in reading it, but for a dollar, it won’t hurt to give it a shot and maybe find out what all the fuss is about. It was kind of the same with Lolita and Selected Writings of Truman Capote. I’m feeling hopeful about all three, though. I read a little bit of Truman Capote when I got In Cold Blood from the library last year, and even though I didn’t finish it, that was my own fault, not the book’s. I just wasn’t making reading a priority at the time. And I feel like I hear so much about Lolita on tumblr (usually on how you should or shouldn’t read it, i.e., as a love story, which I don’t see myself doing anyway) that it seems like a bit of a must-read at this point.

2.9.14 / library book sale--fiction

As for the others? I love Sylvia Plath, so Wintering was no question when I found it. Same with Black Water; I really enjoyed Foxfire by JCO, so I’m excited to finally read another book by her, especially since the cover is the same style as my copy of Foxfire. (It’s an odd preference I have.) Last year I read Mary Roach’s Spook and found it interesting and amusing enough that I wanted to read another of her books, but it was never the right time to buy one. As it turned out, it was just my luck not only to find one at the book sale, but also to find one I was interested in to begin with. If there was one I was considering buying at the book store, it was Stiff. And lastly, You Grow Girl was a lucky find while I was looking for books on plants and gardening because I have Gayla Trail’s Grow Great Grub, which I really enjoy, and I’ve been very particular with my gardening book selection. They have to not only be visually appealing but also have good information, and I think her books tend to meet both of these requirements.

I’m pretty stoked to get started on reading these, once I’ve gotten through a few others first. (I’m currently part way through The Martian Chronicles and A Feast for Crows.) I’m thinking I’ll start with Wintering because with tumblr read alouds recently, I’ve been on a bit of a Sylvia kick, so it only seems fitting. And I’ve already been flipping through You Grow Girl since it’s more reference-like than the rest anyway.

I wholeheartedly recommend checking out a library book sale if there’s ever one near you. They take a little searching–much like thrifting can–to find the pieces that really jump out at you and say, “Take me home please,” but I promise it’s worth it.

Now I just need to figure out where I’m going to store all these new books…

6 thoughts on “February’s Local Library Book Sale Haul

  1. Awesome! Looks like you got some fabulous book loot. Every fall our town does a town-wide yard sale and the library puts out boxes of books. They are purchased by donation only, so it’s give what you can which is great! An awesome way for everyone to experience books.

  2. What a great haul! I can’t wait to hear some reviews of these books, since some I have wanted to read too. My mom brought the movie Eat,Pray,love over bad I started but didn’t finish it. It looked interesting enough, and I’ve almost bought the book a few times. Lolita is one I hear referenced.

  3. Pingback: Gardening Extravaganza 2014: Pre-Planning and Research | Sonya Cheney

Leave a Reply

