From the Bookshelves of February 2014

3.3.14 / February books
Horns by Joe Hill

This was such a cool book! The premise was wonderful, and reading my way through made me so excited for when I finally get to see the film. I absolutely loved one character, Glenna, and do wish we’d gotten a little more of her in the novel. It was a fantastically crafted story. I think any book that I can easily sit in bed with all day without losing my attention is a success, and Horns accomplished that a few days in a row in order for me to finish. It was also a nice bathtub read–but maybe I just have an odd taste in those.

The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

I wasn’t so prepared for a book as totally different from what I usually read, but The Martian Chronicles was certainly that. To begin with, I don’t really read a lot of short stories, even though I enjoy them (and want to start writing more of my own), so that was a fun step outside of the norm. Additionally, I don’t read a ton of science fiction, which this absolutely was. It was funny, though, because the stories take place on an Earth-like Mars and are only a few decades from now, so on the one hand it seems laughable. On the other, however, it’s still such an enjoyable collection of odd stories, sometimes sad, sometimes creepy.

The Do-It-Yourself Guide to Fighting the Big Motherfuckin’ Sad by Adam Gnade

The DIY Guide was my recommendation for the month, and rightly so. It’s such a positive, inspiring read–and I can’t get over the ease of its pocket size, either. I love how much the book reads like a pep talk from a good friend, and I think that really boosts it above other, more prescriptive, books on self-care and emotional health.

The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz

It probably sounds negative to say this was my least favorite of February, but honestly that doesn’t mean it wasn’t good. It was simple, your fairly typical young adult novel with some kind of alt protagonist, but it’s a fun, easy read. I wrote a full review for IGGPPC if you’d like to read more about it.

Wintering by Kate Moses

Absolutely my favorite book of the month. The prose is beautiful, and the novel is such a fascinating presentation of Sylvia Plath’s life. It was a slow read, but I like that because it really forced me to appreciate the work. It also put me on a Sylvia Plath kick again and inspired me to order one of my books for March, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath. The world Kate Moses creates almost feels surreal, an impressive achievement considering the factual basis of the novel. This is one of those successful buys from the library book sale that makes me happy to have spent that dollar full of chance.

What did you read last month?

One thought on “From the Bookshelves of February 2014

Leave a Reply

