From the Bookshelves of March 2014

Divergent on Barnes & Noble Nook
I really hit it out of the park this month, due in part to Dan’s questioning my reading abilities when I got five books from the library one afternoon. “Are you sure you’ll be able to finish all of those?” sounded to me like a challenge, one which I met heartily, if I do say so myself. The downside, of course, is that we returned the books before I remembered to get a photo of them. Ah, well, at least you get to see my Nook this month, which I’ve used quite a bit lately as well.

Ragdoll House by Maranda Elizabeth

This was a reread, and I wrote a post about it last year if you’re interested. But I will say that one thing I loved about rereading this (and other books in general) is the way it lets me take another look at the work and notice things I didn’t the first time around or see how my own thoughts on it change over time.

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

This was a pleasant surprise. To be completely honest, I only got this book because it was a dollar and I heard a lot of good things about it. Otherwise, I wasn’t particularly interested, but as it turned out, it was a lot of fun. I think my favorite part was the first section, all about being in Italy, because it was

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Truth: This book was kind of a disappointment. Everything I heard about it beforehand (even from the librarian scanning my books) said it was hilarious. I don’t know if my funny bone was missing while I read this or what, but I didn’t find it that funny. There were times I laughed, but to be honest, I prefer Mindy Kaling’s book.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

The entire time I read this, I couldn’t stop thinking about the fact that Vizzini commited suicide recently, and that made the book about a million time more sad to read. Still, this was one of my favorites of the month. I love stories that aren’t too pretty, and this one certainly isn’t. It has an amazing set of characters

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

I expected something a lot different from what this book gave, but that might have been my own misunderstanding of the synopses I read before picking up a copy. This was such a cute, yet infuriating, yet heartwarming story. I found myself rooting for Bee and her mother, Bernadette, the entire time and getting absolutely outraged by most of the other characters of the story. It’s a good roller coaster of emotions with an excellent story to go along with it.

Manson: The Life and Times of Charles Manson by Jeff Guinn

This one is a dense read, so it was slow going, but it was perfectly enjoyable. It was a really fascinating look at the circumstances surrounding the Manson Family and its 1969 murders. Not only does the book give the expected backstory of Manson himself, from a childhood that was troubled from the start despite the good intentions of those around him to his transformation into a creepy yet effective self-styled prophet, but it also expands on general history of the time and how it relates overall. There’s a lot of information on L.A. in particular, much of which I didn’t know.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I made it a point to read this after seeing the movie so I could enjoy the movie without constant comparison. You can find a (spoilery) review comparison at IGGPPC, but on the topic of just the book: I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was an exciting, emotional book with a complex female lead–who had a romantic relationship without letting it become everything to her. Certainly it helps to form her character, but it’s not the only thing that does. To an extent, I’ve gotten kind of bored with romance in YA books, and while I did stick my tongue out a couple times at exceptionally fluffy parts, it didn’t turn me off the book or anything, because it was only a piece of the whole.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Oh my goodness. This book literally had me on the floor trying to handle all of the emotions it put me through. I was a damn puddle of feelings. I kept telling Dan all night, “I can’t trust anyone! No one is who I think they are!” And it was wonderful. It was even more complex than the first book, and I practically devoured it in a day. I actually finished it without realizing how close to the end I was, since I was reading it on my Nook; I thought I had a chapter more left than I actually did.

2 thoughts on “From the Bookshelves of March 2014

  1. I was also pleasantly surprised by Eat, Pray, Love – just a fun, unexpected book! And Bossypants, I enjoyed, but don’t feel the need to buy ever (I think Mindy’s packed more of a punch too, though I did laugh out loud quite a bit with Tina Fey’s).

  2. Loved Mindy’s book! My mom gave me the move Eat Pray Love, but I’ve never finished it. I’d like to check out Divergent, mostly for your review and there’s a movie. I need more time to read!

Leave a Reply

