It’s Friday; I’m in Love #42

Worm!Our dining room currently looks like it should be condemned.

Plenty of fun updates this week! Dan and I worked on finishing the raised beds for the garden, which has been a week-long project or so, and as he was digging into the yard to bury the boxes a bit, I kept excitedly shouting, “Worm!” and collecting them in a bowl for composting–though as it turns out, I don’t think they’re the right the kind of worms. Still, they can’t hurt to include, right? Plus we spent the weekend working on the dining room while Dan’s mom and sister were visiting: stripping wallpaper, patching up small holes (and making large ones to be filled), and Dan’s mom started priming the room before she left so we can paint it later on. Dan also started plastering that hole above, and I think it’s looking pretty good so far. I kind of can’t wait to get this first room done and be able to say we’ve finished a project.

I also started working on a new creative nonfiction piece, which I thanked my mom for inspiring because she’s commented on my boobs for a solid ten or fifteen years now–might as well write about it. It’s a rough piece at the moment, only on a second draft, but I think it’ll be interesting when I’ve really tightened it up a bit. I’m pretty excited for when I feel ready (or close enough to it) to submit it, though I have to remind myself not to rush.

I think this weekend we’ll finally–FINALLY–get to go to the dang farmer’s market in town, plus check out some yard sales for things like dining chairs and whatever else we need that I suddenly can’t remember. I honestly don’t know which I’m more excited about. I’m dreaming of homemade jams and fresh vegetables and fancy breads. Okay, so I’m probably more excited about the farmer’s market.

homemade lemonade ♥ nearing the end of our first home project ♥ whistling along to “Home” by Edward Sharpe & the Magnet Zeros ♥ getting to ride my bike just about every day ♥ making a solo trip to Walgreens while Dan was gone over the weekend ♥ packages coming in the mail to give me a break from all the junk mail we get ♥ Love Letters to the Dead ♥ decorating the library ♥ finally getting some real cooking done in the new house ♥ a flourishing garden ♥ feeling inspired + productive ♥ scented candles ♥ planning our housewarming party (tentatively scheduled for mid-July) ♥ my friend Jessica’s awesome new blog, The Paper Trail Diary


“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a (mostly) weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

One thought on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #42

  1. Sounds like the new place is going great! I too am so excited for Farmer’s Market season to begin!!! I’ve got the first one marked on my calendar in fact. 🙂 I’m equally pumped for Memorial Day weekend yard sales. Starting tomorrow morning – can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

