It’s Friday; I’m in Love #52

"Good morning, ma." #catsofinstagram #vscocamI made another friend today. #catsofinstagram #vscocam
I have been oddly exhausted and uninspired this week. I took naps three days (possibly four, if I take one later today) out of five, curling up with the shades half down, intending to read a book, only to fall asleep a few pages in. You would think, of course, that this would make me want to sleep plenty this weekend, but no. No, my plans are to stay up late watching movies and eating snacks and writing and watching movies all weekend. Dan is going to Maine tomorrow, so I’m staying home to babysit the dog, and I fully intend to stay up tonight and tomorrow night having fun (even though Dan will still be home tonight).

Most of my goals for this weekend revolve around relaxing. The past few weekends have been busy, and I need a break. I’m hoping it will recharge me to get back to writing, because aside from some journaling and a few poems, I haven’t done a bunch this month–or at least not enough to meet my goals and standards and whatnot.
I was going through my cookbooks today and I think one of my new goals is to cook/read my way through this one. It was an anniversary present from Dan a few years ago.  #vscocamI knew I'd find a use for this bookcase. #vscocam
I also organized my cookbooks this week, which is exciting for me because I love having them on display, and it’s nice to know I could actually find a use for the bookcase my parents brought over a few weeks ago. As I was moving them from the shelf beneath the microwave into the dining room, I dug out The Book Club Cookbook and I’m feeling inspired again to read and cook my way through it. It was an anniversary present from Dan a few years ago, and I don’t think I’ve ever made anything from it. The book has two or three recipes recommended for pairing with books, like To Kill a Mockingbird and The Great Gatsby and a handful of others. Some of the books I’ve read before, but they’re good enough that I am wholeheartedly excited to reread them with food and drink to go along.

saving up my tips for the county fair next month (currently up to $17) ♥ zine inspiration ♥ reading some old poems of mine and still loving them ♥ dreaming ♥ Pioneers Press–I love them so much ♥ inspiring role models ♥ animal cuddles ♥ grilled cheese sandwiches with sourdough, cheddar, and mozzarella ♥ Taco Bell Nachos Bel Grande ♥ payday ♥ shop cats ♥ rain falling on the garden so I don’t have to water it (#lazygardener) ♥ trying to organize my life and (kind of) getting there


“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a (mostly) weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

4 thoughts on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #52

  1. It was a nap kind of week as well – I happened to be sick most of the week so the day involved lots of naps. And yes to lazy gardening. I love summer rains anyway, and the fact that it means I don’t have to bust out the hose is a huge bonus.

Leave a Reply

