From the Bookshelves of July 2014

08.4.14 / bookcase
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

I read this one for Kristin’s NovelTea book club, and I finished in within the first few days of the month. It completely sucked me in and while I had the basic idea of the novel’s big secret figured out fairly early on, it was still so fun following the characters as they tried to decode this age old mystery. I think my favorite character actually was Mr. Penumbra, too, because he wasn’t a crotchety old man who loathed technology–he was totally fascinated with it! It was so cute. It was a great look at “traditional” reading vs. e-readers and the feelings towards it and technology as a whole (I loved the mention of the mechanical turk, which I actually knew about because Dan’s mentioned it to me before!)

Locke & Key vol. 2: Head Games by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez

I can’t recommend Locke & Key enough. I finally, finally, snagged myself a copy of the second volume, and I’m so glad I did. While not as scary as the first one, which did give me the creeps at points with some fantastic artwork by Gabriel Rodriguez, it was still just weird and chilling. I quickly made a trip to the comic shop and bought volume three shortly after finishing this one, and I can’t wait to get into it.

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

July’s IGGPPC book, and so much fun to read. McBride’s book was a total surprise when I found it on the shelves of the library, not something I had heard of beforehand, and as I mentioned in my review on the IGGPPC blog, it was the title that really drew me in. I can’t resist a good Elton John reference, okay? But it was a lucky break, because I had such an enjoyable time with this one.

Half Bad by Sally Green

Another paranormal book for the month, but this was much darker than Hold Me Closer, Necromancer. I was a little disappointed to find that it’s going to be part of a series, simply because I wasn’t looking for a commitment when I went to the library, but it was good enough that I wasn’t necessarily devastated about it. I’m interested to see where the story goes from where Half Bad left off, because while Necromancer didn’t need to have a sequel because of how it wrapped up, Half Bad leaves you with a very obvious cliffhanger. I was also really fascinated with the way Green formatted the novel, because at times it was written in second person (“you”), and I just think that was an interesting take for some sections.

One thought on “From the Bookshelves of July 2014

  1. I’m so glad everyone seemed to enjoy Mr. Penumbra’s 🙂 I was so nervous in making it the first pick (though, I would’ve been nervous with anything I selected; I think it was a solid, all-around decision).

    I’m just about done with series. Sometimes I don’t want commitment. Most of the time I don’t want commitment.

Leave a Reply

