It’s Friday; I’m in Love #54

Pink tourmaline engagement ringGreen Day heart grenade tattoo
I suppose the first (and most) positive detail of the week that I should share is the fact that Dan and I got engaged. He asked me after Boston Comic-Con, while we were at a park in Boston by the ocean–and also about two minutes after the words, “Ew…a wedding,” came out of my mouth. But that was only because I was hot and tired after hours at Comic-Con, not because I’m actually grumpy about weddings or anything. In general, I’m pretty nonchalant about weddings; they’re fun when I’m invited, but I don’t go to many, so they’re not on my mind often. Ours is still pretty far away, especially since we have yet to set a date, but I’m excited nonetheless, and I’m already starting on planning. I picked up a couple of magazines to browse through and ordered a wedding themed Smash Book, so at least I have a new hobby/project to work on for a while.

The other big plus to my week was my new tattoo! I think I’ve only mentioned once before how much I love Green Day, but let me tell you: it’s (clearly) quite a bit. A few weeks ago, while Dan was gone for the weekend, I sat around watching some old concert DVDs and was struck by the need–the absolutely dire need— for a Green Day tattoo, so I took myself to the tattoo shop downtown and made an appointment. I was very proud because the whole trip was outside of my comfort zone, with meeting new people and driving at a non-routine time of day. I feel like this one was more painful than my first two, which is odd because it’s on a much softer spot, but my theory is that it was simply because it’s bigger than the others. Now I’m working on saving up for my next one, which will probably be on the back of my other arm.

cat cuddles when I’m feeling down ♥ weather that can accurately be called “chilly” ♥ Landline, which I plan to write about next week ♥ egg salad sandwiches ♥ looking forward to getting new tires on my car ♥ naps ♥ mail from pen pal friends ♥ another week of (mostly) home-cooked meals, especially roasted potatoes ♥ two new poem ideas ♥ our new full-length mirror ♥ the matching freckles on the backs of my arms ♥ going to dinner with Chris and declaring him “the man,” rather than the best man because Dan has no other friends ♥ also, Chris’s excitement over our engagement; it’s oddly adorable


“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a (mostly) weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

5 thoughts on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #54

Leave a Reply

