Bout of Books 11.0 Read-A-Thon TBR

8.17.14 / bout of books readathon tbr
Within just the past week or so I learned about the Bout of Books read-a-thon, and it’s been on my mind ever since. I binge-watched some booktube videos a couple of days last week, and it’s got me pumped up to read some more. I seemed to inhale Landline when I read it, but after that I slowed down my reading again. Sure, I should read for the enjoyment and all, but sometimes I need a push to get off the internet and back into the pages, and I think a read-a-thon is the perfect way to go–or at least, it’s worth a shot. So I thought, since today is the first day of the read-a-thon, that I would share the pile of books I hope to get through this week.

But first, an explanation of what Bout of Books is:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I’m a little sad that this is the last Bout of Books for the year, but I’m already looking forward to the one in January and also to searching for others to join in on in the meantime.

So–my books for this round? Behold.

  • Youth in Revolt by C.D. Payne
  • Different Seasons by Stephen King
  • Locke & Key vol. 3 by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
  • Black Water by Joyce Carol Oates
  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath ( This is a reread because I’ve been wanting to do my annual reread lately but haven’t “found the time.”

I also have Scott Pilgrim vol. 1 and Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon vol. 1 as some “if I get to them” options. They’re included in case I need a break from something else, or I finish the others sooner than expected, or even if I decide to swap out something and bring in something a little lighter. But the above list is my more solid selection. Some of them are a bit long, so I might not get to them all, but this is definitely my goal list.

Now, on a somewhat related note, I just want to ramble a bit about the fact that I’m beginning to consider starting a booktube channel. I’m a little torn between making it a regular booktube channel or a combination booktube/asmr channel, because I think they would be interesting to combine. Whispery videos about books? Sounds lovely to me.

This is something I was thinking about for a while, and then Kristin started making her book review videos, and she’s just so cute that I kind of want to get in on it too. And after watching booktube videos all weekend, I’m so pumped to just read. So much inspiration and motivation to read!

It feels like one problem with this might be the fact that I read a lot of books from the library. When I have the money, I do like to buy new books or comics, but that hasn’t been happening too much, especially lately, so I tend to rely on the library more than anything. But it seems like booktubers are always doing haul videos and showing physical copies of books after they read them, and I just don’t always have copies when I review them because I, well, return them to the library. So I’m not sure how that’s going to work–not that I have to do everything the way everyone else does, but it’s nice to have some kind of template to start working with, y’know?

(I think basically what I’m doing here is fishing for people to say, “Yes! Do it!” Kristin‘s already been cheering me on to start, and I’m sure Dan will be all supportive because he’s wonderful, so maybe I just need a little more of a push.)

5 thoughts on “Bout of Books 11.0 Read-A-Thon TBR

  1. Honestly, aside from the summer book-buying binge I went on, which I usually do at least during some point of each year, I borrow most of my books from the library too! It’s almost more motivation to read quickly, so that I have time to record the video before I need to return the book (so new releases can be especially tricky; then again, my library doesn’t often stock the new releases I want, so there’s that too). The editing I can do without the book itself, as long as I’m confident I don’t need it for any other shots.

    And I may have to join the January Read-a-Thon! Sounds awesome!

  2. I will join in on the “Yes! Do it!” chants here. This sounds like a fantastic idea, and I would love to see your book reviews in video form. I wish I’d heard of Bout of Books a whole lot sooner. I guess I’ll have to wait until next time.

  3. I have also been thinking about getting into booktube. I have been wanting to vlog for a long time but I always felt like I didn’t have anything to vlog about…but I have books! I say we both go for it. I have very little experience with YouTube – maybe we can be buddies on this project and help each other figure things out?

Leave a Reply

