The To-Do List: September

09.3.14 / zine work on the porch
Okay–so this is a new thing I’m starting each month, a bit of a to-do list post where I share my goals for the coming month, plus a recap of the previous month. Of course, this time around I have no recap, so it’s just the list. I’m thinking three to five items are good, not too overwhelming, and maybe-hopefully this will keep me accountable throughout the month.

Finish up One-Girl Bicycle Club #006. I have literally been working on this for months–since we moved into the house–but I’ve struggled to put anything together. I write pieces, then feel like they’re no good or they’re too short or they’re not timely enough. My goal now, though, is just to suck it up and finish. I’ve got a word count goal I want to meet before putting it together, and I’m feeling very positive about accomplishing this one.

Do ten full push ups. I might be able to do ten modified right now, but I’m not positive, and even though I’ve been exercising lately, I haven’t done much to really gauge my improvements or anything, so I think at the very least making note of how many full push ups I can do is a good way to keep track.

Choose a name for my lit zine. I’m hoping to put this one out in December, so I need to come up with a name asap to start putting out a call for submissions. Originally I was just going to focus it around food, but I think I’m going to scratch that idea and just keep it open to basically anything I like–mostly because I couldn’t think of a name when I was focusing on food. You can be sure this is one I’ll post about as soon as I accomplish it, though, so I can start getting submissions! Doing a lit zine has kind of been a dream of mine for a few years now, so I’m excited to finally start working on this.

Spend more time outdoors. I have this wonderful, adorable porch, and I don’t spend nearly enough time relaxing on it. Granted, our house is next to a pretty busy street, but it’s still nice when the weather is good. I’m thinking a few hours a day, three or four days a week.  I can watch people walk by and maybe get away from the distractions aplenty to be found indoors (eh-hem, Netflix).

Y’all got any plans for the month? Anything in particular you want to get accomplished?

10 thoughts on “The To-Do List: September

  1. Sounds like great goals! I absolutely loathe pushups. I can’t do them to save my life. I’m working on improving it though! But geez, I’d happy with one full proper form pushup. 😀

    • I have just been OBSESSED with Blogilates the past few months, which is great, but pushups alone feel like a good way to really measure progress in a simple way!

  2. i am excited for your zines– good luck! i have a life goal to do at least one pull up before i die, maybe i will join you and try push ups first?? my goals this month are to get back to blogging (with a redesign, yay!) and finish all my book commissions so i can focus on self-initiated work only for a bit.

  3. I think I will finally have room in the budget to buy some zines this month, so I can’t wait for your new one! My goal for this month is to film at least one vlog and launch a YouTube channel.

  4. I can’t wait to see what you come up with for your lit zine. I need to spend more time outdoors, too. I don’t spend nearly as much time as I should in my backyard. My major goal for September is to do more creative writing. I have a goal of 1,000 words a week, which doesn’t seem like a lot, but it’s been so long since I’ve written anything besides essays, journal entries, and blog posts.

  5. Pingback: One-Girl Bicycle Club #006: A Preview | Sonya Cheney

Leave a Reply

