Writing: A Look at My Process

09.22.14 / porch poetry

Sara (of Sincerely, Sara) tagged me in this little writing-related blog hop, and how could I possibly refuse to answer questions about my writing process? I jump at just about any chance to gab about writing, so of course I’m playing along!

What am I working on/writing?

I’m just now working on finishing up my next zine as my main/big writing project of the moment, but I often take time to write a poem or two every once in a while. And of course, there’s always my blog. Come November, I’m hoping to dive into another round of NaNoWriMo. I’m feeling really good about it this year, and I’m actually intending on going the “planner” route this time around, so I’ve been getting ideas together for when that starts as well.

How does my work/writing differ from others of its genre?

See, it depends on what I’m writing, because I work in a lot of different genres depending on my mood. When I work on young adult-type stuff (usually short stories or some novel attempt), I don’t know if it’s all that different. I do try to make it more diverse than a lot of the popular stuff I’ve read–though there are some wonderfully diverse works if you just know where to look–but I still think it’s a little tame, at least at the moment. My poetry is a little weird, though. It’s kind of all over the place, so I think it’s safe to say it’s nothing anyone would consider a “classic” style.

Why do I write what I do?

To connect with people. I lovelovelove sharing my thoughts and feelings and experiences, and I actually really hate starting conversations with strangers, or even close friends sometimes, so writing is such a strong way for me to do that comfortably. I end up delving into different genres because how I present something depends on exactly what I want to say. A lot of the time if I don’t feel like telling a straight up story, I’ll lean more towards prose poetry because it has this certain kind of freedom I really appreciate.

How does my writing process work?

Usually it involves me finding a comfortable place to write–often either the couch or in bed–and I just go. Of course, there’s a lot of distraction and internet browsing if I’m writing on a computer rather than in a notebook, but it’s also faster to use the keyboard, so I don’t really have a preference between the two. I definitely feel I do my best writing on the weekends because I can stay up late and wander the house, make myself comfortable and do whatever I need to keep my gears moving; my process is a bit more restricted during the week, so it’s much more of  a slog. I do wish I was the kind of person who could have a better routine–sit at my desk with some tea and work for a few hours, for example–but I fall off that wagon pretty quickly whenever I try, so I’m not sure it’s for me.

I’m really terrible at tagging people for these sort of things, so I won’t try, but I’d love to hear your answers to these questions if you fancy yourself a writer.

2 thoughts on “Writing: A Look at My Process

Leave a Reply

