From the Bookshelves of September 2014

09.28.14 / september books

It was a slow months for books around here, but while I’m disappointed with the number I read, I’m very pleased with the quality.

Etiquette & Espionage + Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger

I read the first book, Etiquette & Espionage, as part of the NovelTea book club for the month, and I definitely enjoyed it–so much so that I finished within the first few days of the month and went back to the library to find the second book in the series. Neither of these books was a challenge, but I think that’s okay. Sometimes you just want a chance to relax and have fun, and that’s exactly what these books are. They’re witty and exciting, and while they’re not necessarily deep in any way huge way, they’re still entertaining, which I think is commendable on its own.

The Diviners by Libba Bray

While I certainly enjoyed Gail Carriger’s books, I think The Diviners claims the spot for my favorite of the month. It might have even gotten a recommended reading post if I hadn’t already planned to use it as my IGGPPC book review for October, a month it’s absolutely suited to. I was curious how a scary young adult novel would be: too campy? Too simplistic? But it turned out this was up there with the horror books I read once in a while. This book was well-crafted and not only kept me entertained but had me feeling invested in each character’s well-being. With E&E, it was pretty easy to tell everyone was going to be okay; none of the threats were huge. But in a book full of murder in the 1920s, anything could happen–and happen it did. If you want to read more about my thoughts on it, you can see my full IGGPPC review.

I’m definitely looking to up the quantity of my reading for October, but I think I’ll be quite alright with quality staying at the level I was been graced with in September.

One thought on “From the Bookshelves of September 2014

Leave a Reply

