Panic! At the Editor’s Desk

There’s about a month until the deadline for the first issue of Wonderlust, and I admit I’m beginning to worry. I was hoping for a bit more of an influx of submissions and instead I’ve received…three: some poetry and cover art. Reblogs on tumblr have slowed to a crawl and instead of excited anticipation at each email notification buzzing on my phone, I’m laden more and more often with preemptive disappointment.

This is one of the biggest projects I’ve worked on alone, and my impatience and excitement are spawning loads of insecurity. Do I have enough of a reach to get any submissions? Am I too boring for people to be interested in submitting? Am I too aggressive with my posts? Am I reblogging and tweeting too much? I DON’T KNOW. All I’m doing is worrying, and I think we can all agree that’s not going to be helpful in the long run.

I just want this to be successful, and for that to be even remotely possible, I need more than a couple of submissions. This isn’t a project that I can carry the bulk of. This is a comp zine; it takes more than my efforts alone.

One of my bigger-yet-achievable dreams over the past few years was to start some kind of literary zine. I looked into a variety of publishing formats, from Issuu to a WordPress site to tumblr, but I decided on print because I can’t shake the idea of people being able to physically read and reread pieces someone else has written, not because I have anything against digital versions, but because I think there’s something to be said for having a copy you can keep on your desk or your shelf or, if you’re like me, your milk crate beside your desk. And I finally put forth the effort to work on this project, so I can’t help feeling a little anxious about how well it’s going to turn out.

3 thoughts on “Panic! At the Editor’s Desk

  1. Don’t panic! Honestly, I just haven’t had the time to write or even edit something I’m proud of submitting. The anxiety is normal, but I think the “issues” are more with those submitting (i.e. my procrastination) than any kind of lack of reach or intrigue.

  2. I’m with Kristin. I haven’t devoted as much time as I would like to writing, and when I do, I focus a lot on stream-of-consciousness stuff so I can get all of my ideas out. The zine is a fantastic idea and I think a lot of people are interested in both reading it and submitting, but life gets in the way. I’m sure more submissions will roll in! 🙂

  3. I hear you. I always worry about Static submissions. I’ve found that keeping the timeframe shorter helps, a bit. Plus, everyone always submits RIGHT BEFORE DEADLINE. Because this zine is one that might require a bit more work on the submitter’s end, I’d predict that’s the case. People can’t just whip up a short story to send in after you post it, sadly. And that brings me to the fact that I can’t submit even though I really wanted to. I can’t even make my next perzine now, I’ve piled on way too many things for myself in a short time including an online class and other zines to be made by November. If you have a second issue, I’ll defo make it for that. No matter how it ends up, this zine is going to be amazing! Post on forums for zines and literary small presses like Broken Pencil magazine’s Facebook. Maybe Shameless magazine, too. Send that link everywhere!!

Leave a Reply

