Reading List: Summer 2013

07.08.13 / summer book list
07.08.13 / some summer reading

As anyone will tell you, when you want to write, reading as much as you can is just as important as writing as much as you can, if not more. So one thing I try to do (keyword: try) is to get off the internet often enough to read a lot of books. Sometimes I fail and don’t read anything more than blogs and texts for a few days at a time. But in general I’m proud of the number of books I can get through in a year.

One of my new goals is to create a reading list for every season. Not necessarily books related to the season, though. It’s just that I already have yearly to-read goals (this year’s is 75 books), and breaking it down seasonally should make this even easier. Of course, it’s a bit late in the summer to be sharing my reading list now, but better late than never, right? And at least it’s not August.

Most of this season’s list is made up of unread books on my shelves. Some of them I’ve had for a while, some of them are new, and some of them are Dan’s, but they’re all books I’ve been wanting to read and have gotten distracted from (usually by other books).

Summer Reading List 2013

  • The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
  • Palo Alto by James Franco
  • The Outcast of Redwall by Brian Jacques
  • Life, the Universe, and Everything by Douglas Adams
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Martin the Warrior by Brian Jacques
  • So Long and Thanks for All the Fish by Douglas Adams
  • Death by Black Hole by Neil Degrasse Tyson
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams
  • The Pearls of Lutra by Brian Jacques
  • The Salmon of Doubt by Douglas Adams
  • A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

I don’t plan on reading them in this order, only because I already read the first and last on the list, but one thing I am hoping to do is to avoid reading two books in a row by the same author, just to maintain some kind of variety.

Do you have a to-read list for the summer? What have you read so far?

2 thoughts on “Reading List: Summer 2013

  1. Reading is essential for writing… It looks like you’ve got a good list of books to go through too! Personally I have a list of books I wouldn’t want to do without… Reading Psycho Cybernetics, Think and Grow Rich, The Slight Edge and many more books like that have changed my life. Thanks for sharing and letting me share!

    -Eric Out-

Leave a comment