It’s Friday; I’m in Love #1

07.05.13 / it's a hot day

It’s my first week back with a “real blog” (as opposed to only an erratic tumblr), and it was all I could do not to write some half-done filler post out of pure excitement. While it’s nice to post short thoughts or quips on tumblr and twitter, I much prefer the ability to have longer, more thought out posts on a blog. I mean, I could do that on tumblr, but there’s something about tumblr that just doesn’t feel like that’s the place to do it for me; it’s probably the reblogging factor. But that’s why I have several places of presence on the internet, right? They each fulfill their certain need.

This past week, my emotions have been a bit of a roller coaster, as they seem to be every week, but I’d say it was a mostly positive one. I shouldn’t have to rack my brain too much for the good bits to share.

getting a new job ♥ slowly finishing A Storm of Swords ♥ lots of thought time for my 24-Hour Zine Thing contribution ♥ Camp Nano ♥ hosting a giveaway of my zines on tumblr ♥ building this blog + my Facebook page ♥ chipping away at the word count for my novel ♥ two-thirds homemade s’mores pies ♥ The Gits ♥ the new Etsy lists feature ♥ femme punk babes on tumblr ♥ International Zine Month ♥ compliments ♥ the Warm Bodies soundtrack ♥ Fourth of July barbecue parties ♥ putting my new blog on bloglovin’

Three ways to make next week great:

  • Write. My plans is 1,000 words per day, and so far I’ve managed that quite well aside from yesterday (which was a holiday, so that’s my excuse). Every day I manage to stay on track, I manage to stay positive–and the days I stay ahead are even better.
  • Go for a bike ride. I’ve been wanting to do this for weeks now, basically since we’ve moved, but I have a hard time getting myself to leave the house by alone. This would be such a good way to explore, get some sun, and get a little exercise in. Plus, I need to get more comfortable on my road bike, or else sell it and just stick to my cruiser.
  • Finish A Storm of SwordsThese books always take me a month to read, and I think I’m about due to finish this one up. As good as the series is, the books always take a lot out of me, and I’m looking forward to reading something new when I’m done.

How has July started out for you?


“It’s Friday; I’m in Love” is a weekly gratitude post. It aims to remind myself and others of the good things from the past week, big and small; to share ways to make the next week a positive one; and to serve as a record to look back on for the not-so-great days to come. The title comes from the song by The Cure.

2 thoughts on “It’s Friday; I’m in Love #1

  1. I’ve been thinking about getting into tumblr again, still undecided. I’ve been wanting a cruiser but I would be scared to ride it because of all the traffic. Yay for your new job and new bog,

    • If you do get back into tumblr, let me know! I can understand being undecided, though. It can be a weird place. I often consider quitting it. I love my cruiser, but it’s a men’s, so it’s kind of uncomfortable. That’s why I’m hoping to finally get comfortable on my road bike. And I try to only ride on the quieter streets. They’re usually close to the parks too, which helps. The traffic on the busy streets scares me too, though.

Leave a comment